TBBRRP: Barbour Thornproof Repair Kit

I managed to track down two of the repair kit tins; I got two mainly because I wanted to use one and keep the other. I’m not sure why Barbour stopped producing these as they’re a nice little product. Presumably it’s because they make more money out of official repairs and new replacement jackets. Shame.

Barbour Thornproof Repair Kits

Barbour Thornproof Repair Kits

The Contents

The Contents

The tin on the left (with three royal warrants) I won on eBay and the older kit (with two royal warrants), to the right, I found on Gumtree. The seller of the latter was based in Whitstable, so I thought it would be a good idea to jump on a train and head to the seaside for the afternoon.

Fortunately it was a lovely sunny day – something that’s been slow to occur this Spring – so I had a wander along the sea front and got some fish and chips. I also decided that I’d quite like a little beach hut that I could head to every now and again and be a hermit for a while.

As a quick trial of the Stormsure glue that I intend to use on some of the Barbour repairs, I decided to re-glue the insoles of my Quoddy Maliseet Oxford shoes. This would allow me to check the constancy of the glue, gauge the drying time and test the dried/cured strength.

Testing Stormsure glue on my Quoddy shoes.

Testing Stormsure glue on my Quoddy shoes.

  • Question: Does the glue stick well?
  • Hypothesis: The glue should stick well.
  • Method: Put glue on the insoles.
  • Result: The insoles stuck well
  • Conclusion: The glue sticks well. It is good glue.
This entry was posted in Clothing, Projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment